
 
 
May 20, 2010 
 

Production Alert: 
 
California Film & Television Tax Credit Program Permanent Regulations Approved 
 
The permanent regulations for the film and TV tax credit program were formally adopted 
by the Office of Administrative Law on May 19, 2010.  To assist you in understanding the 
new regulations, please find a summary of the more significant changes to the 
regulations below.   
 

1. Animated Productions, consisting principally of computer generated or hand 
painted images are not considered qualified productions.  An animated 
production does not engage in principal photography and therefore does not 
meet the conditions for eligibility set forth in the Statute.  Any animated 
production issued a Credit Allocation Letter shall continue to be eligible for the 
tax credits allocated and must comply with all the permanent regulations (except 
the first 3 sentences of subsection 5502(g)). 
 

2. Productions  whose Qualified Expenditure Budget  does not exceed $10 
million dollars may be considered an Independent Film, provided they are not 
owned by a publicly traded company or a publicly traded company does not own 
more than 25% of the producing company.  Previously, the $10 million dollar 
budget threshold for Independent Films  was measured by the total production 
budget – including qualified and non-qualified expenditures.  

 
3. An Independent Film whose Qualified Expenditure Budget exceeds $10 million 

dollars will be reclassified as a Feature Film and placed at the end of the queue 
for any available tax credits in the non-Independent film allocation category. The 
credits will no longer be transferable, and the credit percentage will be adjusted 
from 25% to 20%. 

 
4. A new television series licensed for original distribution on basic cable must 

have a running time of no less than 60 minutes, inclusive of advertisements and 
interstitial programming.  It must submit documentation verifying that the series 
will have its initial distribution on basic cable. 

 
5. The definition for a Movie of the Week has been revised.  A Movie of the Week 

must submit documentation verifying its initial distribution on television with  a 
minimum of 75 program minutes broadcast in one part. 

 
6. The definition for a Miniseries has been revised.  A Miniseries must submit 

documentation verifying its initial distribution on television consisting of two or 
more episodes with a total running time of at least 150 program minutes. 

 
7. All productions must submit the Financing Sources Report, and it must include 

documentation which confirms at least  60% of the production’s  financing. 



 
8. Businesses are not required to be registered to do business in California in order 

for their expenditures to qualify as long as the service is performed in the state. 
 
9. The provision referencing capitalized property has been deleted. 

 
10. Applicants must submit a report prepared by a certified public accountant 

licensed to perform attest services in compliance with the Agreed Upon 
Procedures, which is available for review on the CFC website. 

 
11. Orientation meetings must occur not less than 4 weeks prior to principal 

photography.  Previously, orientation meetings were required within one month of 
issuance of the Credit Allocation Letter. The production accountant is required to 
attend. 

 
12. Production companies must submit documentation from each contracted visual 

effects, digital effects and/or title company, indicating the total dollar amount 
of work performed within the state of California. 

 
13. The following forms have been revised: Application (Form A), Financing 

Sources Report (Form B), Independent Film Declaration (Form C), Monthly 
Status Report ( Form I), Fiscal Year End Report (Form K), Expenditure Summary 
Report (Form F).  All forms can be found on the CFC website. 
 

14. The Application Form now requires the applicant to provide an estimate of total 
California expenditures – qualified and non-qualified. 
 

15. Costs are qualified only until 30 days after the creation of the final elements. Only 
expenditures incurred up to 30 days after that date shall be considered qualified 
expenditures. 
 

 
 
You are encouraged to read the permanent regulations, revised guidelines, Tracking 
Tips, and Expenditure Charts on the CFC website.  Please feel free to contact the CFC 
with any specific questions regarding the Tax Credit Program. 
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